Stages of Chronic Kidney Disease

Note: The statements on this website and the products offered have not been evaluated by the US Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Contents herein are being provided solely for the purpose of information. If you are pregnant, do not take any of our products listed herein. Also, please consult your physician or a qualified medical professional prior to taking this or any other dietary supplements or if you feel you have uremic, metabolic or related health conditions.

Five Stages of Chronic Kidney Disease – CKD

In the five stages of kidney disease, each stage is progressively more serious. Kidney disease advances from Stage 1 to Stage 5 as determined by a test called the GFR or glomerular filtration rate. GFR is an indicator of how well the kidneys are filtering the blood. Metabolic consequences of CKD can be devastating:

Stage 1 – (Chronic Kidney Disease) CKD

At Stage 1, when few people are diagnosed, there are few, if any metabolic consequences. Microalbuminuria is often present in some forms of early renal disease especially diabetes mellitus.

Stage 2 – Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD)

By Stage 2, the parathyroid hormone level begins to rise, elevating calcium levels in the blood and increasing the risk of calcification of the arteries and consequently causing premature death. Calcium phosphate product (Ca X P) Stages Of Kidney Diseaseabove 55 is associated with arterial calcification especially in those with hypertension and in smokers.

Stage 3 – Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD)

By Stage 3, calcium absorption decreases. Simultaneously, high-density lipoprotein (HDL or “good” cholesterol) activity also declines. This increases the risk of cardiovascular disease if it is not already present. Subsequently, malnutrition and anemia develop.

Stage 4 – Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD)

In Stage 4, triglyceride (blood fat) concentrations rise, metabolic acidosis develops because of excess acidity in the blood. Patients then develop hyperkalemia (high blood potassium). Metabolic acidosis and hyperkalemia can both be fatal. At Stage 4, patients are advised to begin preparing for dialysis or transplantation.

Stage 5 – Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD)

In Stage 5, also called ESRD (end-stage renal disease), kidneys have lost more than 85% of their function and the only chance for survival is with dialysis or transplantation. In some healthy elderly persons, a reduced GFR that is stable over time and without significant proteinuria may not indicate significant renal disease.

Renadyl™ | Probiotic for Kidney Health

products-sizeRenadyl™ is a patented and proprietary probiotics dietary supplement that has been scientifically formulated and clinically tested. Renadyl™ metabolizes nitrogenous waste that has diffused from the bloodstream into the bowel. Nitrogenous wastes are utilized by Renadyl™ as nutrients. As probiotics grow and multiply, they consume more nitrogenous waste and therefore effectively help maintain healthy kidney function. The nitrogenous metabolites are eliminated as solid waste/fecal matter.